Home > Lightroom, LR4 > Integrating LR4b in Your Workflow

Integrating LR4b in Your Workflow

Upon downloading and installing Lightroom 4 beta, Adobe provides assurances that the installation will not affect any of your existing catalogs.  Then, they continue with a lot of disclaimers on its use:
  • Intended to be used for testing and feedback purposes.
  • Develop settings applied in Lightroom 4 beta are not guaranteed to transfer correctly to the final version
  • While data loss is not expected, this is an early ‘beta’ quality build and you should always work on duplicates of files that are securely backed up.

…So how do we proceed?

How I Integrate LR4b for Evaluation
Working on duplicate files is a sound way to go – and constantly backing up our files is what we normally do – right! :-).
However, importing a set of files into LR3 then duplicate that set of files and import into LR4b is a hassle – not to mention confusion of which files have been fixed and what changes to keep when the final version of LR4 is released.

I prefer to process the same files in both LR3 AND LR4b!
At first it seems strange but let me explain.

Tom Hogarty, product manager suggests that when “you try Lightroom 4 beta to check your catalogs and make sure the auto write to file is unchecked (and) …not to write changes to your file.” This is exactly what I do.
After installing LR4b, immediately go to the “Catalog Settings” and select the “Metadata” tab.  Uncheck the box Automatically write changes to XMP“.  This will insure anychanges you make in LR4b will remain only in the LR4b catalog and will not be written to the files on your hard drive.

A Couple of Notes:
When you import the same files into LR4b that have been imported into LR3 (or any previous version of Lightroom), if the “Automatically write changes to XMP” box:
–   was Checked, you will see all your changes from the original catalog
       • (along with any keywords, color label, star ratings, etc.)
–   was NOT Checked, the files will be unprocessed in their original form
       • (your processing changes exist in the original catalog)
–   in Either Case, processing changes will remain untouched in the original catalog

LR4b can process both the new expanded Process Version 2012 and the previous Process Version 2010. You can easily compare these two process versions.  Simply make a virtual copy of an image, “Reset” the virtual copy to the default PV2012 settings then adjust the photo with the “Basic” sliders and compare it to the PV 2010. (This will be discussed more in a future post.

How to Proceed Using Lightroom 3 (or any previous version of LR)
As far as continuing with your LR3 processing, continue as normal these changes will not be reflected in your LR4b catalog.  When LR4b becomes a full version, we can then decide if we want to save or discard our LR4b experimentation.

Categories: Lightroom, LR4 Tags: ,
  1. Paul Casco
    January 18th, 2012 at 13:52 | #1

    Bob,
    Thanks for the reply.
    I have upgraded my Nvidia’s software.
    I will check if it makes a difference.
    I might be a little picky on the subject of the
    Masking slider. If I move it more slowly
    it works just fine.
    I am sure that by the time it gets to the delivery
    date it will be a fine addition to our arsenal.
    Paul
    staight

    [Reply]

  2. Paul Casco
    January 16th, 2012 at 15:46 | #2

    Bob,

    While setting my Preferences (LR4) >File Handling>camera raw cache settings. The Location and Maximum size box were already set to my LR3 settings. I thought they didn’t talk to each other.

    When I have an image on screen—and go to 100% (1:1) and try to move the image from left to right it takes a while for it to catch up with the move. Not in LR3

    On a trip to CS5 it tends to lower the contrast—looks much flatter when it gets back to LR.

    When sending to CS5 —small window with—This version of LR may require the PS camera plug-in version 7.0 for full compatibility—Please update. Actions choices to take are “Render using Lightroom”, “Open anyway”, “Cancel”.

    [Reply]

    Bob DiNatale Reply:

    Paul,
    While setting my Preferences (LR4) >File Handling>camera raw cache settings. The Location and Maximum size box were already set to my LR3 settings. I thought they didn’t talk to each other.
    LR4b & LR3 did not talk to each other.  However, all Adobe programs that use common aspects, such as camera raw setting, (camera and lens profiles) is a system setting by “User”.  Therefore any Adobe programs installed will use any common Adobe settings by “User”.  Make a change in any Adobe program and it will affect all common settings.

    When I have an image on screen—and go to 100% (1:1) and try to move the image from left to right it takes a while for it to catch up with the move. Not in LR3
    Have not experienced this or heard from others about this glitch.  My history makes me think it is a graphics card issue.  Why it does this in LR4b and not LR3 is puzzling. 

    On a trip to CS5 it tends to lower the contrast—looks much flatter when it gets back to LR.
    Depends on what box you click when opening file into Photoshop. I am assuming the “flatter” version is the unprocessed version because of choosing “Open Anyway” which will open up your original file (but keep any crop that was made)

    When sending to CS5 … choices to take are “Render using Lightroom”, “Open anyway”, “Cancel”.
    Because your Photoshop does not have the Adobe Camera Raw plug-in 7.0 used in LR4b, you are prompted on how to continue.  Depending on your choices will affect what the image will look like when opened in Lightroom.  As you noticed you have three options — “Cancel” is obvious.  Below are the results of the other two options along with the recommended third choice.

    1. If you choose “Render Using Lightroom” this does two things:
      1) will make an additional tiffs/PSD “-Edit” file in Lightroom then
      2) will open up the image with all the Lightroom adjustments as baked into a PS “Background” layer.
    2. If you choose “Open Anyway” which know LR changes are applied (except for any cropping).
    3. I would recommend you “Open as a Smart Object in PS”.  (This choice is located near the bottom of the list).  This has two benefits: 1) it will open as a “Smart Object ” as the base layer in PS  that incorporates all of the LR changes and 
      2) when the Camera Raw 7.0 plug-in for Photoshop becomes available, you will be able to double-click this smart object and adjust any aspects of Adobe’s Process Version 2012.

    [Reply]

You can add images to your comment by clicking here.